Still Printing

I’ve recovered fairly well from my sprained ankle and went back to work, and kept printing.

Once I turned on the brim option, I managed to get a unicorn that turned out pretty well. He does have a bit of a beard, but you can’t have everything right? It makes him look distinguished I think. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

IMG_5901.JPG

Somehow, designing my earring chest files in the middle of the night was not the best way to ensure accuracy. I thought I had run the numbers correctly for all of my shelves on the large piece to be the same size. I was wrong.

I printed the drawer first, and then the insert to go inside of it. It wasn’t quite the right fit, and I hadn’t thought to make the legs of the insert short enough to be practical.

IMG_5871

I edited the insert a little–smaller dimensions over all, and then shortening the legs–and, success!

IMG_5880

Now, I just had to print the shelves to hold the drawers (and print some more drawers and inserts), and  I’d be all set. A relatively complicated, multi piece 3D printed object. I was excited about this milestone.

The truth is, I wasn’t quite there yet.

Somehow, I had ended up with 3 shelves that fit my existing drawer design, and one shelf that was just too short. Rather than print a whole cabinet for it, I was going to content myself for the time being with printing one more drawer that would fit the smaller height on the last shelf, and call it a day.

I didn’t quite manage the perfection I was hoping for, but I’d call this a decent success for my first attempt at something this complicated.

IMG_5913

The mixed success did slow me down a little in my design ambitions, but I’ve still been having lots of fun printing. This napkin holder I printed (designed by TanyaAkinora) turned out beautifully (slow down your bottom layer speed to a crawl for something like this).

IMG_5907.JPG

After nearly 6 weeks of writer’s block, where I only managed a few thousand words, last weekend I managed 5K in a night and I feel like I may be over my block.

I’ve also started going for walks. The weather is gorgeous–there’s turtles, birds, and squirrels out in abundance. It’s good for the mind, body, and soul.

IMG_6133.JPG

Leave a Reply

