It’s that time again…NaNoWriMo

Well, it’s that time again. NaNoWriMo is upon us. I thought I’d cross-post my “about me” from there and let you know where my head is at at this point in the process: 25 hours until November begins.

In January of 2013, I decided that 2013 was going to be the year I made things. Making things was something I’ve always enjoyed doing, and I was going to make a concerted effort to do more. I started my first real YouTube channel, and filled it (mostly) with cooking videos, despite my initial nervousness at being on camera. I’ve started a blog. I’ve been experimenting with my boyfriend’s 3D printer. I made a handbag and put it on Etsy (it didn’t sell). I started lifting barbells and was making progress until the whole cooking thing became a lot more interesting than eating healthy and lifting heavy things. This seems like the perfect year to give NaNoWriMo a proper go. I had attempted it last year, but lacking an idea for an original novel, my goal last year was to finish several in progress fan fictions.

Er, yeah.

I write fan fiction. An embarrassing amount of fan fiction. 1.4 million words archived of it to date actually.

My biggest challenge with NaNoWriMo is going to be writing consistently and developing a world for my characters. I’m more than capable of finding other people’s worlds and taking their characters out to play, but dagnabbit, I want my own story-babies and I mean to have them.

I’ve led a moderately interesting life–I’ve lived in California, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Taiwan, and Tennessee. And that’s just the places I’ve really lived–imagine everywhere I’ve “traveled” if you count all the books I’ve read. Somewhere, there’s got to be fodder for a good story. 

I’m kind of doubting anyone has read this far, but if you have, you deserve a gold star. We’ll see what happens in the next 30 days, but here’s hoping for the best.

Is anyone else doing NaNoWriMo this year? What are you writing? Have you succeeded before? Failed before?

One thought on “It’s that time again…NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Weaving with a Plot Tribble – ROW80 Update, 10/31/13 | shanjeniah

Leave a Reply

